UNCW Presidents & Chancellors

University Archives serves as the repository for official records of all divisions of the University of North Carolina Wilmington as well as other items related to the history of the University. We collect, preserve, arrange, describe, and make available these materials in accordance with the Records Retention and Dispositions Schedule for Institutions of the University of North Carolina System.

The University of North Carolina Wilmington Board of Trustees is the governing body for the University of North Carolina Wilmington. The UNC Wilmingotn Board of Trustees began operation in 1972. It succeeded the 100-member Board of Trustees of the Consolidated University of North Carolina (1969-1972) and the Wilmington College Board of Trustees (1958-1969). Prior to 1958, the governing body for Wilmington College was the New Hanover County Board of Education. This collection include meeting minutes, committee files, correspondence, clippings, membership rosters, and photographs from 1958 to the present.

This collection consists of administrative files from the Presidents and Chancellors of the institution, including correspondence, reports, installation and inauguration programs, biographical information, and photographs.

The University of North Carolina Wilmington Biographical Collection consists of biographical data sheets, photographs, announcements, brochures, and other material collected for public and media relations offices. The collection has information about faculty, staff, administrators, members of the Board of Trustees and several presidents and chancellors. The collection also includes unique research and scholarly writings by faculty.

This collection contains correspondence, newspaper clippings and assorted personal papers of Dr. John T. Hoggard.

This collection contains primarily personal papers related to the professional career of Thomas T. Hamilton. Included in the collection is Hamilton's curriculum vitae, newspaper articles, photographs, a letter, and a typed document titled, "Our Challenging Vision," justifying the need to establish Wilmington College. Inclusive dates range from 1948-1989. The photographs in the collection are of John C. Hamilton standing next to a portrait of his father in the Trustee room of Alderman Hall, 1989.

This manuscript collection contains information related to Dr. William Madison Randall's family and career from 1899 to 1972. Included are documents, correspondence, publications, newspaper articles and clippings, photographs and ephemera related to Randall's childhood, military career, career at UNCW, interest in languages and other scholarly pursuits. The collection also includes a tool belt and his graduation robes.

Dr. William H. Wagoner served as the Superintendent of the New Hanover county school system from 1961-1968, as the fourth President of Wilmington College from 1968-1969 and as the first Chancellor of the University of North Carolina Wilmington from 1969-1990. This collection contains correspondence, publications, newspaper clippings, agendas, photographs, maps and ephemera related to the careers of Dr. Wagoner in Wilmington as well as his personal life.