Books
Teaching Banned Books by
Who hasn't read Blubber? And yet, published in 1974 and a New York Times 'Outstanding Book', it remains one of the 100 Most Frequently Challenged Books and is kept out of many school libraries. As a standard-bearer for intellectual freedom, the school librarian is in an ideal position to collaborate with teachers to not only protect the freedom to read but also ensure that valued books with valuable lessons are not quarantined from the readers for whom they were written. In this classroom- and library-ready book of discussion guides, award-winning champion of children's literature Pat Scales shows that there is a way to teach these books while respecting all views. The twelve books featured in Teaching Banned Books, all challenged at one time or another, are jumping-off points for rich and engaging discussion among young readers, their librarians and teachers, and their parents. Each guide includes a summary of the novel, a pre-reading activity, tips for introducing the topic, critical-thinking discussion questions, and an annotated bibliography of related fiction and nonfiction. Armed with award-winning books that kids love, you will: Stimulate critical-thinking in reading. Encourage freedom of thought and expression. Integrate 1st Amendment principles into project-based social studies and language arts. Communicate the value of banned books to administrators and challengers. There's a win-win way of teaching banned books, and Pat Scales shares it in this brilliant handbook for educators and school librarians who serve today's young readers.
Call Number: Z1019 .S33 2001ISBN: 0838908071Publication Date: 2001-06-01
Ban This Book by
You're Never Too Young to Fight Censorship! In Ban This Book by Alan Gratz, a fourth grader fights back when From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler by E. L. Konigsburg is challenged by a well-meaning parent and taken off the shelves of her school library. Amy Anne is shy and soft-spoken, but don't mess with her when it comes to her favorite book in the whole world. Amy Anne and her lieutenants wage a battle for the books that will make you laugh and pump your fists as they start a secret banned books locker library, make up ridiculous reasons to ban every single book in the library to make a point, and take a stand against censorship. Ban This Book is a stirring defense against censorship that's perfect for middle grade readers. Let kids know that they can make a difference in their schools, communities, and lives! "Readers, librarians, and all those books that have drawn a challenge have a brand new hero.... Stand up and cheer, book lovers. This one's for you." --Kathi Appelt, author of the Newbery Honor-winning The Underneath "Ban This Book is absolutely brilliant and belongs on the shelves of every library in the multiverse."--Lauren Myracle, author of the bestselling Internet Girls series, the most challenged books of 2009 and 2011 "Quick paced and with clear, easy-to-read prose, this is a book poised for wide readership and classroom use."--Booklist "A stout defense of the right to read." --Kirkus Reviews "Gratz delivers a book lover's book that speaks volumes about kids' power to effect change at a grassroots level." --Publishers Weekly
Call Number: G775b 2017ISBN: 0765385562Publication Date: 2017-08-29
Can I Teach That? by
Can I Teach That? Negotiating Taboo Language and Controversial Topics in the Language Arts Classroom is a collection of stories, strategies, advice, and documents collected for teachers who are using or plan to use materials or implement policies they know may be controversial. It is for any teacher dedicated to engaging their students in the complex, challenging, and rewarding activities of reading and writing, for any teacher committed to speaking honestly with students. For any teacher, period. Because when we decide to work with young people, when we commit to sharing books and ideas that engage their hearts and minds, when we strive to get adolescents to think critically and write honestly, we open ourselves up to suspicion and critique from someone, somewhere, no matter how above reproach we feel our materials and strategies are. Few language arts teachers will experience a full-blown challenge to the content of their curriculum, but many may self-censor or suffer through awkward and challenging conversations with colleagues, administrators, parents, and other members of their community. This book is for those times when teachers are called on to defend and legitimize their use of controversial material in their classroom--material that they know reflects students' reality, even as it makes adults uncomfortable and fearful about their inability to protect children from that very reality.
Call Number: LB1631 .C365 2016ISBN: 1475814763Publication Date: 2016-07-14
Mark Twain under Fire by
Threatened by a rival editor brandishing a double-barreled shotgun, young Samuel Clemens had his first taste of literary criticism. Clemens began his long writing career penning satirical articles for his brother's newspaper in Hannibal, Missouri. His humor delighted everyone except his targets, and it would not be the last time his writing provoked threats of "dissection, tomahawking, libel, and getting his head shot off." Clemens adopted the name Mark Twain while living in the Nevada Territory, where his caustic comedy led to angry confrontations, a challenge to a duel, and a subsequent flight. Nursing his wounded ego in California, Twain vowed to develop a reputation that would "stand fire" and in the process became the classic American writer. Mark Twain under Fire tracks the genesis and evolution of Twain's reputation as a writer: his reception as a humorist, his "return fire" on genteel critics, and the development of academic criticism. As a history of Twain criticism, the book draws on English and foreign-language scholarship. Fulton discusses the forces and ideas that have influenced criticism, revealing how and why Mark Twain has been "under fire" from the advent of his career to the present day, when his masterpiece Huckleberry Finn remains one of America's most frequently banned books. Joe B. Fulton is Professor of English at Baylor University in Waco, Texas. He has published four previous books on Mark Twain.
Call Number: PS1337.3 .F85 2016ISBN: 9781571135537Publication Date: 2016-11-15
Media Psychology 101 by
"This book provides a thoughtful and balanced look at some of the hot topics generating headlines, such as media violence, body image, social representation and sex in the media.Media Psychology 101 will be a valuable addition to introductory courses and the public as a user-friendly overview of much-discussed issues. -Pamela Rutledge, PsycCRITIQUES There are few areas of modern social science that are as fiercely debated as media psychology. Written by one of the foremost experts on the topic, this is a concise overview of what is known√>=and not known√>=about how individuals are affected by and interact with various forms of mass media. The book critically examines research from cognitive, social, developmental, biological, and evolutionary approaches to psychology and addresses the interplay between media consumption and viewer behavior in such realms as advertising, body image, sex, and violence. Distinguished by its examination of research from a scientifically objective position, the book offers students not only current knowledge of media psychology but also the tools to challenge commonly held assumptions from popular advocacy and ideology. This text cuts across different psychological approaches to studying how individuals are affected by mass media and includes research from criminal justice and sociology. It considers critical debates in media psychology and how debates in science themselves can be influenced by processes such as "moral panic." Written in a lively, accessible manner, the book draws upon engaging examples such as Photoshopped model controversies, dubious advertising practices, and attempts to blame violent crimes on media to illustrate scholarly principles. Throughout, data from research studies are related back to real-world phenomena such as violence rates, advertising dollars spent, or changes in the news media. Written for upper-level undergraduate and graduate students studying media psychology, the text will also be of value to professionals in psychology, sociology, and criminal justice as well as individuals involved in public policy as it relates to media effects. Key Features Offers an objective, interdisciplinary approach to understanding media and behavior Draws from cognitive, social, developmental, and biological psychology, as well as criminal justice research and sociology Challenges the conclusions drawn from research to foster critical thinking Written in a lively, accessible writing style with engaging examples
Call Number: P94 .F38 2016ISBN: 9780826196736Publication Date: 2015-07-01
J. D. Salinger's the Catcher in the Rye by
A fascinating examination of J.D. Salinger and his landmark novel, The Catcher in the Rye Since its publication in 1951, The Catcher in the Rye has been a cultural phenomenon, not only as an assigned text for English courses, but as a touchstone for generations of alienated youth. But who was J.D. Salinger, and how did he come to write a novel whose impact continues to resonate with millions of readers? In J.D. Salinger's The Catcher in the Rye: A Cultural History, Josef Benson examines the legacy of an elusive author and his work. After exploring how the novel reflected Salinger's tortured psyche, Benson discusses how the book made an impact on generations of readers--from 1960s counter-culture youth and followers of the Black Power movement of the 1970s to the disenfranchised teens of the Reagan era and the celebrity-fixated masses of the present day. In addition, Benson unravels the mystery behind Salinger's reclusiveness, the effects the novel had on the reading public who adored it, and why three American assassins cited the novel as an inspiration. J.D. Salinger's The Catcher in the Rye also considers why this work of fiction has been among the most widely taught--and most frequently banned--books of all time. By looking at the novel as both an artifact of the 1950s as well as a living testament to the turmoil of teenage angst, this book provides a riveting discussion of one of the most enigmatic novels and authors of all time.
Call Number: PS3537.A426 C3216 2018ISBN: 9781442277946Publication Date: 2018-03-12
Books under Fire by
Many things have changed since ALA's Office for Intellectual Freedom (OIF) was founded in 1967, but not everything: the most beloved and popular children's books are still among the most frequent targets of censorship and outright bans. Limiting access to controversial titles such as Captain Underpants, The Dirty Cowboy, Blubber, or Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark or leaving them out of a library's collection altogether is not the answer to challenges. In this important book, Scales gives librarians the information and guidance they need to defend challenged books with an informed response while ensuring access to young book lovers. Spotlighting dozens of "hot button" titles written for young children through teens, this book Gives a profile of each book that covers its plot, characters, published reviews, awards and prizes, and author resources Recounts past challenges and how they were faced, providing valuable lessons for handling future situations, plus a list of other books challenged for similar reasons Provides discussion ideas for planning programming around banned books, whether in reading groups, classrooms, or other settings Includes an appendix of additional resources for librarians who find themselves enmeshed in a challenge With this guide at hand, library managers, children's and YA librarians, and other library staff will be prepared to champion intellectual freedom for young people.
Call Number: Z1019 .S325 2015ISBN: 9780838911099Publication Date: 2014-09-01
Censorship by
Editor Scott Barbour has carefully compiled several essays that debate various issues relating to censorship. By presenting readers with more than one intelligent viewpoint, they will think critically while forming or revising their own opinions about censorship. Chapter one debates whether there should be limits to free speech. Chapter two asks whether the Internet should be censored. Chapter three takes a look at worldwide censorship on free speech. Chapter four discusses whether freedom in the U.S. is threatened by censorship. Essay sources include Dean Baquet, Bill Keller, Haroon Siddiqui, Adam B. Kushner, April Gu, Debra Lau Whelan, and Alan Sears.
Call Number: Z657 .C393 2010ISBN: 9780737747614Publication Date: 2010-01-23
Hit List for Children 2 by
Featuring 24 "hot button" books, Hit List for Children 2 presents a who's who of children's literature writers. With a profile of each book that includes its plot, characters, published reviews, awards and prizes, and author resources, you will be prepared to answer even the toughest attacks.
Call Number: Z1019 .B38 2002ISBN: 0838908306Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Hit List for Young Adults 2 by
Featuring 20 "hot button" books including 11 new titles, Hit List for Young Adults 2 presents a who's who of young adult writers including Salinger, Cormler, Chbosky, and Blume.
Call Number: Z1019 .L48 2002 c.2ISBN: 0838908357Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Literature and the New Culture Wars by
Our current "culture wars" have reshaped the politics of secondary literature instruction. Due to a variety of challenges from both the left and the right--to language or subject matter, to potentially triggering content, or to authors who have been canceled--school reading lists are rapidly shrinking. For many teachers, choosing which books to include in their curriculum has become an agonizing task with political, professional, and ethical dimensions. In Literature and the New Culture Wars, Deborah Appleman calls for a reacknowledgment of the intellectual and affective work that literature can do, and offers ways to continue to teach troubling texts without doing harm. Rather than banishing challenged texts from our classrooms, she writes, we should be confronting and teaching the controversies they invoke. Her book is a timely and eloquent argument for a reasoned approach to determining what literature still deserves to be read and taught and discussed.
Call Number: PN59 .A66 2022ISBN: 9781324019183Publication Date: 2022-09-06
