eBooks
Banned Books by
It may sound shocking, but even in this current age, books are banned all around the globe. What makes a book inappropriate, even dangerous for public consumption, and who has the power to deem it so? Some governments ban books as a form of censorship. Schools and districts can ban books they consider too racy or inappropriate for their students. Does banning books take away our liberties, attempt to erase history, and impose an agenda? Is the practice actually in our best interest, depending on the circumstance? This balanced volume helps readers to examine this nuanced issue.
ISBN: 9781534500761Publication Date: 2017-07-30
Teaching Banned Books by
Who hasn't read Blubber? And yet, published in 1974 and a New York Times 'Outstanding Book', it remains one of the 100 Most Frequently Challenged Books and is kept out of many school libraries. As a standard-bearer for intellectual freedom, the school librarian is in an ideal position to collaborate with teachers to not only protect the freedom to read but also ensure that valued books with valuable lessons are not quarantined from the readers for whom they were written. In this classroom- and library-ready book of discussion guides, award-winning champion of children's literature Pat Scales shows that there is a way to teach these books while respecting all views. The twelve books featured in Teaching Banned Books, all challenged at one time or another, are jumping-off points for rich and engaging discussion among young readers, their librarians and teachers, and their parents. Each guide includes a summary of the novel, a pre-reading activity, tips for introducing the topic, critical-thinking discussion questions, and an annotated bibliography of related fiction and nonfiction. Armed with award-winning books that kids love, you will: Stimulate critical-thinking in reading. Encourage freedom of thought and expression. Integrate 1st Amendment principles into project-based social studies and language arts. Communicate the value of banned books to administrators and challengers. There's a win-win way of teaching banned books, and Pat Scales shares it in this brilliant handbook for educators and school librarians who serve today's young readers.
ISBN: 9780838908075Publication Date: 2001-06-01
Can I Teach That? by
Can I Teach That? Negotiating Taboo Language and Controversial Topics in the Language Arts Classroom is a collection of stories, strategies, advice, and documents collected for teachers who are using or plan to use materials or implement policies they know may be controversial. It is for any teacher dedicated to engaging their students in the complex, challenging, and rewarding activities of reading and writing, for any teacher committed to speaking honestly with students. For any teacher, period. Because when we decide to work with young people, when we commit to sharing books and ideas that engage their hearts and minds, when we strive to get adolescents to think critically and write honestly, we open ourselves up to suspicion and critique from someone, somewhere, no matter how above reproach we feel our materials and strategies are. Few language arts teachers will experience a full-blown challenge to the content of their curriculum, but many may self-censor or suffer through awkward and challenging conversations with colleagues, administrators, parents, and other members of their community. This book is for those times when teachers are called on to defend and legitimize their use of controversial material in their classroom--material that they know reflects students' reality, even as it makes adults uncomfortable and fearful about their inability to protect children from that very reality.
ISBN: 9781475814774Publication Date: 2016-07-11
Book Banning by
Editor Thomas Riggs has assembled some detail-driven essays to help readers analyze the book banning debate. Readers will examine the role of parental control, whether teens need better, bolder books, whether homophobia is at the root of many book-banning efforts, and the role that Librarians play in defending book selections.
Call Number: Z657 .B735 2011ISBN: 9780737755541Publication Date: 2011-09-17
Encyclopedia of Communcation by
Designed for the non-specialist, this is a complete reference covering finance and banking, accounting, marketing, management and information systems. Drawing on practical expertise and current scholarship, the contributors include executives, scholrs and government administrators.
ISBN: 0028658876Publication Date: 2003-12-01
Is It Wrong to Ban Books? by
When people discuss the idea of banning books, they are also discussing much broader concepts, including censorship, basic freedoms, and the power of religious and political institutions. These challenging topics are presented in accessible ways as readers explore the debate surrounding banned books. As they immerse themselves in many viewpoints surrounding this debate through engaging text, fact boxes, vibrant photographs, and graphic organizers, they discover the importance of developing an informed, independent opinion about issues that affect their lives.
ISBN: 9781534524903Publication Date: 2017-12-15
Defending Frequently Challenged Young Adult Books by
A Day No Pigs Would Die, Speak, Thirteen Reasons Why These are some of the most beloved, and most challenged, books. Leaving controversial titles such as these out of your collection or limiting their access is not the answer to challenges. While ALA's Office for Intellectual Freedom reports more than 4,500 challenges to young adult literature from 2000 through 2009. This authoritative handbook gives you the information you need to defend challenged books with an informed response and ensure free access to young book lovers. With a profile of each book that includes its plot and characters, related materials and published reviews, awards and prizes, and Web and audiovisual resources, you will be prepared to answer even the toughest attacks.
ISBN: 9781442264311Publication Date: 2016-09-08
Hit List for Young Adults 2 by
Featuring 20 "hot button" books including 11 new titles, Hit List for Young Adults 2 presents a who's who of young adult writers including Salinger, Cormler, Chbosky, and Blume.
ISBN: 0838908357Publication Date: 2002-01-01
