Sciences Librarian
Need Help?
Psychological Measurement And Testing
Tests and measures are used in assessment and research and can take the form of surveys, questionnaires, instruments, scales, and more. Finding these materials can be particularly challenging. As you're navigating the resources on this page, note that:
- No single database provides full-text versions of all tests or measures, so this means that you will likely have to look in a few different places to find them.
- Some researchers and test creators publish their complete tests in books and journal articles. Others have sold the “rights” to their tests to publishing companies, and now the publishers distribute (sell) the tests.
- There are likely many options for relevant tests, depending on the people you want to study and what you want to learn about them.
Starting Points
Consider the following starting points when looking for tests or measures for your research projects:
- Try the library database APA PsycTests, which includes the full text of some tests, instruments and scales
- Explore test-specific resources to find commonly used and peer reviewed tests and measures using the resources listed in the box to the left.
- Identify tests you'd like to use by exploring reviews of tests using the resources listed in the box below. (Note that you will likely find the tests themselves elsewhere.)
- Search for published journal articles that include test questions using the resources in the box below.
- APA PsycTestsAPA PsycTests indexes a wide variety of test types and instruments including aptitude tests, personality scales and cognitive functioning measures. Research instruments are available as PDF downloads or multimedia files. Select measurements are available in more than 40 languages. Coverage spans more than 100 years, with a strong emphasis on current research instruments
- APA's Guide to Finding Information About Psychological TestsAnswers to frequently asked questions are provided in this American Psychological Association guide and are divided into three topic areas: published psychological tests, unpublished psychological tests, and additional information on the proper use of tests.
Reviews of Tests and Measures
The resources below do NOT provide copies of tests. Instead, they offer basic information such as the test name, purpose, population, scoring system, validity, price, and publisher.
- Mental Measurements YearbookProvides users with a comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments. The MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, sociology, education, business, and leadership. Find more information.
- APA Testing and AssessmentAPA's Testing Office offers a testing information clearinghouse with links to several full text and sale items, and a list of links to other testing sites; also offers guide to finding and using psychological tests.
- Buros Center for TestingResource for psychology and education research in assessment development. Provides free access to vetted testing materials and questions that can be repurposed by professionals and students for creating diagnostic or subject evaluation materials. From the publishers of the Mental Measurements Yearbook.