LibGuides: Public Health: Scholarly Articles

Recommended Databases

PubMED
Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), PubMed is the most comprehensive biomedical research database, and a key resource used by scientists. Find more detailed information.
CINAHL Ultimate
CINAHL Ultimate indexes the top nursing and allied health literature available including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association and includes nearly 1,500 active full text peer-reviewed journals. The database covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.
In January 2024 Randall Library upgraded to CINAHL Ultimate from CINAHL Plus with Full Text.
Health & Medical Collection
Offers comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more. The journals cover all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, surgery, and others. Provides in-depth coverage from over 1,500 publications with almost 1,300 available in full text and of these, over 900 include MEDLINE indexing. Includes all charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to medical research. Part of ProQuest Central. Find more information.

Selected Public Health Journals

The Lancet Public Health
The Lancet Public Health is an open-access journal with coverage of all aspects of public health—for example, in the areas of health protection, health promotion, and health services.
American Journal of Public Health
The official journal of the American Public Health Association, AJPH is dedicated to publication of original work in research, research methods, and program evaluation in the field of public health.
Social Science & Medicine
Publishes original research articles (both empirical and theoretical), reviews, position papers and commentaries on health issues, to inform current research, policy and practice in all areas of common interest to social scientists, health practitioners, and policy makers.
BMC Public Health
BMC Public Health is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers articles on the epidemiology of disease and the understanding of all aspects of public health. The journal has a special focus on the social determinants of health, the environmental, behavioral, and occupational correlates of health and disease, and the impact of health policies, practices and interventions on the community.
American Journal of Preventive Medicine
The American Journal of Preventive Medicine publishes articles in the areas of prevention research, teaching, practice and policy. Original research is published on interventions aimed at the prevention of chronic and acute disease and the promotion of individual and community health

Other Helpful Article Databases

Ovid Emcare
Ovid Emcare includes nearly 5 million records of scholarly and peer-reviewed literature in nursing and allied health dating back to 1995, including abstracts. Subject coverage in clinical medicine, health professions, nursing, pharmacology and public health.
Web of Science
This collection of databases offers an integrated, versatile research platform, it delivers easy access to high quality, diversified scholarly information in anthropology, biology, chemistry, biochemistry, criminology, education, environmental sciences, geography, geology, marine sciences, mathematics and statistics, physics, psychology, social work, sociology, as well as search and analysis tools that enhance this content. Includes Web of Science Core Collection, which consists of multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide. Find more detailed information.
ScienceDirect
Offers access to most of the Elsevier Journal collection covering the sciences, business, child development, computer science, clinical research, economics, history, hospitality, industrial technology, library and information science, physical education and health, psychology, social work, sociology, and tourism. Find more detailed information.
Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature, including articles, papers, theses, books, and reports. If you are off-campus, and do not see the Find article @ UNCW link, you can configure your Google settings. Find more information.
Health and Wellness (Gale)
Gale Health and Wellness offers access to thousands of full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices, and more.

Open Access Repositories

The resources below are freely available databases that may include a variety of material: preprint (draft or preliminary) versions of articles, conference papers and/or posters, book chapters, white papers, and more. These repositories help speed up dissemination and enhance discoverability and access to early-stage scholarship across disciplines.

It is important to note that these materials have likely not been edited or benefited from the pivotal role of peer-review, which validates and improves the quality of final published journal articles.

Medical Research Network (MedRN)
Repository for preprints in medicine; medical education; research on infectious diseases, illnesses, and health conditions; clinical practice, diagnostic assessments, diagnoses, treatments, and health outcomes.
SocArXiv
SocArXiv, open archive of the social sciences, provides a free, non-profit, open access platform for social scientists to upload working papers, preprints, and published papers, with the option to link data and code.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
The Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is a huge open-access repository for scholarly papers in law, the social sciences, business, and some other disciplines. Hundreds of thousands of authors have posted abstracts and papers. SSRN has over 750,000 abstracts—and most of the papers are available for free download (PDF).

Public Health

Health and Human Services Librarian

Need Help?

Welcome!

Recommended Databases

Selected Public Health Journals

Other Helpful Article Databases

Open Access Repositories