LibGuides: Public Health: Evidence-Based Practice

Evidence-Based Practice Resources

Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups. Databases included are Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA) and NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED). Find more information.

UpToDate
UpToDate is a clinical decision support tool used by working professionals in clinical settings as well as researchers. Each article includes references with links back to the sources in the National Library of Medicine. UpToDate also includes patient handouts, comprehensive drug information, health related calculators, and Lexicomp Drug Interaction information.
The Guide to Community Preventative Services
The Community Guide is a website that houses the official collection of all Community Preventive Services Task Force (Task Force) findings and the systematic reviews on which they are based.
Trip Clinical Database
Trip is a free clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Also includes images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.
National Institute for Health and Care Excellence Guidance
Based in the United Kingdom, NICE's Guidance includes evidence-based advice, standards, and guidelines for social care and public health services.
Healthy People 2030: Evidence-Based Resources
From the U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, browse published reviews of studies and interventions to improve health organized by Healthy People 2030 objectives.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality: Evidence-Based Practice Center Reports
These reports provide comprehensive, science-based information on common, costly medical conditions and new healthcare technologies and strategies. The EPCs review all relevant scientific literature on a wide spectrum of clinical and health services topics.
HealthEvidence.org
Offers access to quality-rated systematic reviews evaluating the effectiveness and cost-effectiveness of public health interventions, including cost data.