LibGuides: Public Health: Data and Statistics

Statistics and Data

CDC: National Center for Health Statistics
Division of the CDC that collects and reports accurate health statistics for better policy-making. Resource also provides information about publications, budget, and employment.
OECD Health Data
International health data from the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD).
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality: Research
Research findings, data and statistical tools, reports and publications from Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).
Health Facts by State
Health data in a variety of indicators and categories at the state-level compiled by the Kaiser Family Foundation.
Explore Census Data
Searchable database of digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau. Provides information related to the population, economy, and other subjects surveyed by the Census.
North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics
The North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics is responsible for data collection, health-related research, production of reports and maintenance of a comprehensive collection of health statistics.
NC Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities
This office's mission is to promote and advocate for the elimination of health disparities among all racial and ethnic minorities and other underserved populations in North Carolina. Browse its interactive maps and fact sheets for statistical information.

LINC
LINC (Log Into North Carolina) is a service of the North Carolina State Data Center. It is "the most valuable Web resource for NC statistical data." Features: Over 1000 data items from state and federal agencies; Historical data and projections, 1960s to 2030; State, county, municipality, township, tract, block group, and block coverage; Definitions and help screens; Customized report capabilities; Preformatted topic reports, including census profiles; Continual updates incorporating newly released data. LINC provides statistics in these broad areas: Population and Housing; Vital Statistics and Health; Social and Human Services; Law Enforcement, Courts, and Corrections; Environment, Recreation, and Resources; Energy and Utilities; Government; Employment and Income; Business and Industry; Agriculture; Transportation.

Library Statistics Databases

Statistical Abstract of the United States
The best known and most popular single source of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. This database is designed to serve as a convenient, easy-to-use statistical reference source and as a guide to statistical publications and sources.
ICPSR (Inter University Consortium for Political and Social Research)
ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, including a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminology, criminal justice, social work, sociology, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
You do not need to be on-campus to create an account but you must log in to your account from a UNCW IP address or UNCW-owned computer at least once to be associated with the UNCW membership.
Statistics of U.S. Business
U.S. Census Bureau. A free online resource for statistical business information.
Historical Statistics of the United States
This five-volume reference work reflects thirty years of new data and scholarship. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field.
Sage Data
Provides access to the extensive Data-Planet repository of standardized and structured statistical data. Through a single platform, users can search and browse 35 billion data points in over 4.9 billion datasets sourced from over 70 authoritative government and private sources, covering 16 subject areas. The platform's powerful functionality allows users to manipulate datasets, compare multiple indicators, chart trends over time and spatially represent data without requiring additional software programs. Multiple export options are provided. Find more information.