Researching Southeast NC Newspapers
For a more detailed explanation of the various newspapers available and information about how to locate them, researchers may find the following subject guides helpful:
Contact the Center
Center for Southeast North Carolina Archives and History
UNCW Library, Discovery Hall, 2nd floor
5162 Randall Dr.
Wilmington, NC 28403
csencah@uncw.edu
910-962-7810
Newspapers to Reference
The below is a list of Wilmington and North Carolina newspapers, historical and current, but please refer to related bibliographies, such as in David Zucchino's Wilmington's Lie, for additional sources.
| WILMINGTON, NC | NORTH CAROLINA |
|---|---|
| Cape-Fear Recorder | Charlotte Daily Observer |
| The Daily Dispatch | Charlotte Observer |
| The Daily Journal | Fayetteville Observer |
| The Daily Record | Morning Post (Raleigh) |
| The Evening Dispatch | New Berne Daily Journal |
| The Morning Star | North Carolina Times |
| The Record | Raleigh Gazette |
| Semi-Weekly Messenger | Raleigh Register |
| Wilmington Daily Post | Raleigh Sentinel |
| Wilmington Evening Dispatch | Union-Republican (Winston-Salem) |
| Wilmington Herald | Weekly Standard (Raleigh) |
| Wilmington Journal | |
| Wilmington Messenger | |
| Wilmington Post | |
| Wilmington Star | |
| Wilmington Star-News |
Linked here are newspaper databases and digitized newspaper collections with significant material applicable to 1898. Please note that coverage of the coup was broad and widely reported in multiple regional and national newspapers:
- The Daily Record (Wilmington, NC)"The Daily Record" was an African American paper that figured prominently in the Wilmington Riot and Coup d’etat of 1898. Very few issues are known to remain; in partnership with the Cape Fear Museum and UNC-Chapel Hill, The North Carolina Digital Heritage Center has shared those remaining issues here. You can also read more about a project to assemble quotes from the Record found in other newspapers of the era at The Wilmington Daily Record Project.
- The News & Observer (Raleigh, NC)Editions of "The News & Observer" from 1898 are available on microfilm at UNCW's Randall Library. Please follow the link for information on accessing these.
- Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper CollectionFind historical newspapers from across the United States and beyond. Explore newspaper articles and clippings for help with genealogy, history and other research. 5,100+ newspapers from the 1700s–2000s. For local 1898 newspapers, reference The Wilmington Messenger, The Wilmington Morning Star, and the Wilmington Dispatch.
- Historical Black NewspapersThis collection of historical black newspapers provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Publications include:
The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010)
Chicago Defender (1909-1975)
Michigan Chronicle (1934-2010)
New York Amsterdam News (1922 - 1993)
Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2010)
Pittsburgh Courier (1911 - 2002)
- African American Newspapers Series 1Chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience, African American Newspapers, Series 1, features 280 newspapers from 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles. These titles published for or by African Americans constitute valuable primary sources for researchers exploring such diverse disciplines as cultural, literary and social history; ethnic studies and more. Beginning with Freedom’s Journal (NY)—the first African American newspaper published in the United States—the titles in this groundbreaking series include The Colored Citizen (KS), Arkansas State Press, Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, L'Union (LA), Northern Star and Freeman’s Advocate (NY), Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN) and hundreds of others from every region of the U.S.
- African American Newspapers Series 2African American Newspapers, Series 2, 1835-1956 complements and expands on African American Newspapers, Series 1. Published in 22 states and the District of Columbia, the more than 75 newly available newspapers in Series 2 significantly increase access to primary sources for researchers across African and African American studies; political science; ethnic studies; diaspora studies; women’s studies; and cultural, literary and social history. Key titles include Frederick Douglass’s New National Era (Washington, DC), Washington Tribune (Washington, DC), Chicago Bee (Chicago, IL), The Louisianian (New Orleans, LA), The Pine and Palm (Boston, MA), National Anti-Slavery Standard (New York, NY), New York Age (New York, NY), Harlem Liberator (New York, NY), North Carolina Republican and Civil Rights Advocate (Weldon, NC), Southern News (Richmond, VA) and many others.
- Historical NewspapersThis collection of historical newspapers provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Includes:
The Atlanta Constitution (1868 - 1984)
Atlanta Daily World (1931 - 2003)
Baltimore Afro-American (1893 - 2010)
The Baltimore Sun (1837 - 1993)
Chicago Defender (1909 -1975)
Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1994)
The Christian Science Monitor (1908 - 2008)
Detroit Free Press (1831 - 1999)
The Guardian and The Observer (1791 - 2003)
Los Angeles Times (1881 - 1994)
New York Amsterdam News (1922 - 1993)
The New York Times (1851 - 2011)
Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916 - 2010)
Philadelphia Inquirer (1860 - 2001)
Pittsburgh Courier (1911 - 2002)
San Francisco Chronicle (1865 - 1922)
St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874 - 2003)
Toronto Star (1894 - 2016)
The Wall Street Journal (1889 - 2000)
The Washington Post (1877 - 2001)
- Chicago Newspapers (Chicago Public Library)Provides online access and microfilms of numerous Chicago newspapers from 1849 to present.