The Wilmington Coup D'état of 1898

In this oral history interview, Melton McLaurin discusses his career in academics. Dr. McLaurin was hired as chair of the UNCW history department, a position that he held until 1991. He discusses the department during this time of growth at the university, the beginning of the graduate program in history, his teaching, and his research. In 1996 Dr. McLaurin became associate vice-chancellor for academic affairs. Although he retired in 2002, he continued his association with the university, serving in various roles. Most recently he organized a video documentary project about the Montford Pointe Marines. The interview includes Dr. McLaurin's reflections on what he envisions for the future of UNCW and the future of humanities in the university setting.

This collection, housed in the Southern Historical Collection of the UNC Center for the Study of the American South, contains more than 5,000 oral histories. The Southern Oral History Program Interview Database provides detailed descriptions of the interviews in the Southern Oral History Program Collection. Digital transcripts and audio for many interviews are available through this database created and maintained by the University Library at UNC Chapel Hill. Analog audio recordings, paper transcripts, and supplementary files are available through the Southern Historical Collection in the Louis Round Wilson Special Collections Library at UNC Chapel Hill.

Specific to 1898 is an interview with “Mrs. B,” a native of Wilmington, N.C., from 1978, as part of the "B.2.2. Individual Biographies: Special Focus: Racial Violence in Wilmington, N.C." project.

A selection of recorded oral history interviews chronicling African-American life during the age of legal segregation in the American South, from the 1890s to the 1950s. On the main website, use the "Limit your search" box to select Wilmington for interviews with those who reference 1898.