Contact the Center
Center for Southeast North Carolina Archives and History
UNCW Library, Discovery Hall, 2nd floor
5162 Randall Dr.
Wilmington, NC 28403
csencah@uncw.edu
910-962-7810
Published Works
These works are arranged in chronological order in order to highlight how the narrative of the coup was presented, and eventually shifted, from the time it occurred through present day. Most early accounts of the coup perpetuate a narrative devised and championed by its perpetrators and members of the Democratic party.
- Hanover, or, The Persecution of the Lowly: A Story of the Wilmington Massacre byCall Number: PS3511.U6625 H3 1969Publication Date: 1969Originally published circa 1901
- A digitized version of this title is freely accessible via the Internet Archive. A full text transcript of this title is freely accessible via Documenting the American South.
- A full text transcript of this item is freely accessible online via Documenting the American South.
- Digitized versions of this title are freely accessible via Google Books and the East Carolina University Digital Collections.
- Digitized versions of this title are freely accessible via Google Books and the East Carolina University Digital Collections.
- A digitized version of this title is freely accessible via the East Carolina University Digital Collections.
- Pictorial and Historical New Hanover County and Wilmington, North Carolina, 1723-1938 byCall Number: F262.N5 D4Publication Date: 1938
- A digitized version of this title is freely accessible via the East Carolina University Digital Collections.
- A digitized version of this title is freely accessible via the East Carolina University Digital Collections.
- The Negro and Fusion Politics in North Carolina, 1894-1901 byCall Number: E185.93.N6 E4 1973Publication Date: 1951
- A digitized version of this title is freely accessible to current UNCW students, faculty, and staff as well as any member of the public with a North Carolina public library card via NC LIVE.
- Race and Politics: The Evolution of the White Supremacy Campaign of 1898 in North Carolina byCall Number: E185.93.N6 W66 1977Publication Date: 1977
- Police in Wilmington, North Carolina: A Brief History byCall Number: HV7903 .A42Publication Date: 1983Includes a recap of the 1898 coup and a report by the newly installed chief of police, E.G. Parmele
- We Have Taken A City: Wilmington Racial Massacre and Coup of 1898 byCall Number: F263.5 .P7 1984Publication Date: 1984
- Gender and Jim Crow: Women and the Politics of White Supremacy in North Carolina, 1896-1920 byCall Number: E185.93.N6 G55 1996Publication Date: 1996
- Democracy Betrayed: The Wilmington Race Riot of 1898 and Its Legacy byCall Number: F264.W7 D46 1998Publication Date: 1998
- Strength through Struggle: The Chronological and Historical Record of the African-American Community in Wilmington, North Carolina, 1865-1950 byCall Number: F264.W7 R42 1998Publication Date: 1998
- Where These Memories Grow: History, Memory and Southern Identity byCall Number: F209 .W47 2000Publication Date: 2000See “Land Marks of Power: Building and Southern Past in Raleigh and Wilmington, North Carolina 1885-1915" by Catherine Bishir
- Narrative, Political Unconscious, and Racial Violence in Wilmington, North Carolina byCall Number: E-resourcePublication Date: 2005
- Moving Forward Together: A Community Remembers 1898 byCall Number: F263.5 .M69 2008Publication Date: 2008
- A Day of Blood: The 1898 Wilmington Race Riot byCall Number: F263.5 .U43 2009Publication Date: 2009
- Interracial Communication: Contexts, Communities, and Choices byCall Number: HM1211 .I585 2011Publication Date: 2011See "1898: Reflections, A Southern Community's Racial History and Future" by Earl Sheridan and Bertha Boykin Todd
- Race, Place, and Memory: Deep Currents in Wilmington, North Carolina byCall Number: F264.W7 M85 2018Publication Date: 2018
- Wilmington’s Lie: The Murderous Coup of 1898 and The Rise of White Supremacy byCall Number: F264.W7 Z83 2020Publication Date: 2020
These works highlight the political, racial, and social factors that contributed to and were born out of the events of 1898. Main topics include Reconstruction, voting rights, the Democratic Party, and the state of affairs in North Carolina at the time. Please note, some works not available in Randall Library have been listed in the Additional Resources section.
- Ballots and Fence Rails: Reconstruction and the Lower Cape Fear byCall Number: F262.C2 E9 1995Publication Date: 1966
- The Impact of Negro Voting: The Role of the Vote in the Quest for Equality byCall Number: JK1929.A2 K4Publication Date: 1966
- Following the Color Line: An Account of Negro Citizenship in the American Democracy byCall Number: E185.61 .B16 1973Publication Date: 1973
- The Shaping of Southern Politics: Suffrage Restriction and the Establishment of the One-Party South, 1880-1910 byCall Number: JK1936.A2 K68Publication Date: 1974
- Maverick Republican in the Old North State: A Political Biography of Daniel L. Russell byCall Number: F259.R87 C76 1977Publication Date: 1977
- The Black Second: Race and Politics in North Carolina 1872-1901 byCall Number: E185.93.N6 A5Publication Date: 1981
- Reconstruction—America's Unfinished Revolution, 1863-1877 byCall Number: E668 .F66 1989Publication Date: 1988
- Ben Tillman & the Reconstruction of White Supremacy byCall Number: E664.T57 K36 2000Publication Date: 2000
- Struggle for Mastery: Disenfranchisement in the South, 1888-1908 byCall Number: JK1929.A2 P47 2001Publication Date: 2001
- Revolt of the Tar Heels: The North Carolina Populist Movement, 1890-1901 byCall Number: JK2374.N85 B44 2008Publication Date: 2008
- Slavery by Another Name: The Re-Enslavement of Black People in America from the Civil War to World War II byCall Number: E185.2 .B545 2008Publication Date: 2008
- The Paradox of Tar Heel Politics: The Personalities, Elections, and Events That Shaped Modern North Carolina byCall Number: F260 .C57 2010Publication Date: 2008
The following published works and resources are not available through Randall Library. Please seek external sources for access and further information.
- Memories: "Truth and Honesty will Conquer" by B.F. Keith (1922)Digitized version is available via the UNC Chapel Hill library. It can be accessed via the included catalog link.
- Black reconstruction : an essay toward a history of the part which black folk played in the attempt to reconstruct democracy in America, 1860-1880 by W.E.B. du Bois (1935)Digitized version freely accessible online via the Internet Archive.
- The Negro in North Carolina: Politics Since Reconstruction by William Alexander Mabry (1940)Digitized version freely accessible online via HathiTrust.
- The Struggle for White Supremacy in North Carolina by Evelyn Underwood (1943)Master's thesis for UNC Chapel Hill's Department of History. Not available online. Print copy available via UNC Libraries.
- A Journal of the McKinley Years by Charles Gates Dawes (1950)Not available online. Use this link to locate a print copy in a library near you.
- Sand Against the Wind: The Memoirs of John C. Dancy (1966)Not available online. Use this link to locate a print copy in a library near you.
- The fight for the Constitutional Convention : the development of political parties in North Carolina during 1867 by Stephen Marc Appell (1969)Master's thesis for UNC Chapel Hill's Department of History. Not available online. Print copy available via UNC Libraries.
- Southern Racial Politics & North Carolina's Black Vote by Val Atkinson (2007)Digitized version freely accessible online via the Internet Archive.
- "Devoted to the interests of his race" : Black officeholders and the political culture of freedom in Wilmington, North Carolina, 1865-1877 by Thanayi Michelle Jackson (2016)Digitized version accessible online to current UNCW students, faculty, and staff via ProQuest Dissertations & Theses.