LibGuides: UNCW Center for Marine Science History: Research, Scholarship, Publications, More

Research & Scholarship

UNCW Honors Project Papers
Honors Project papers produced by students who have completed the seniors honors project at UNCW through the Honors College
UNCW Theses & Dissertations
UNCW Theses, Dissertations, Honors Papers and Special Projects searchable through the Library Catalog.

Seahawk DOCKS
Seahawk DOCKS is UNCW's portion of a shared database called North Carolina Digital Online Collection of Knowledge and Scholarship (NC DOCKS). Designed by UNC Greensboro and shared with UNCG, East Carolina University, Appalachian State University, and UNC Pembroke, NC DOCKS is designed to hold digital, online copies of faculty articles, white papers, and other scholarly works, in addition to student theses and dissertations. This type of database is often referred to as an "Institutional Repository," or IR.

Lower Cape Fear River Program
The Lower Cape Fear River Program is a large-scale water quality and environmental assessment program covering the Cape Fear River Estuary and a large portion of the lower Cape Fear River watershed. A collaboration of academia, government, industry, and the public, the program is located at and administered by the Center for Marine Science at the University of North Carolina at Wilmington.
Environmental Assessment & Water Quality Reports
Included here are some of the environmental assessment and water quality reports by the Center for Marine Science, published through the Aquatic Ecology Lab's Lower Cape Program.

To find additional scholarly research articles by marine sciences faculty and researchers, you can search Randall Library's subscription databases: https://library.uncw.edu/find_databases. See also these other subject guides:

State Government Publications

Aquanotes
Newsletter by UNCW Center for Marine Science Research, published in 1996.
CoastWatch
Award-winning magazine published by the NC Sea Grant College Program, 1979-Present
Wildlife in North Carolina
This journal has been published by the North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission and the Division of Game and Inland Fisheries since 1951.

Search across NC State Government Publications

Find research reports and other information about UNCW marine sciences, co-authored or produced by various agencies.

NC State Government Publications Collection
Find full text current, and historic publications produced by North Carolina state government. The collection includes publications on a wide variety of topics including health care, agriculture, transportation, and education. Some of the files in this collection are very large and may take several minutes to load.

Publications in Randall Library

Adventure Beneath the Sea: Living in an Underwater Science Station by Kenneth Mallory; Brian Skerry (Photographer)
Call Number: 551.46 M651a 2010
Publication Date: 2010-10-01
Children's book about a week spent in the Aquarius underwater laboratory on a coral reef off the Florida Keys. Photographs capture the stunning sights of a strange undersea habitat in this winner of the John Burroughs Nature Books for Young Readers Award.

Aquarius: America's inner space station extending the reach of science
NC Documents G130 614:A65 ncdocs

Giving Flight to Imagination: 70 Years of Excellence by Thomas R. Hart
Call Number: LD3962.9 .H37 2017
ISBN: 9780692926734
Publication Date: 2017-10-25
From These Beginnings: Wilmington College, 1946-1969 by J. Marshall Crews, edited by Mary Duex Dodson
Call Number: LD3973 .C7 2001
Publication Date: 2001
Also available online
Masonboro Island : A Resource Inventory
Call Number: QH76.5.N8 M3 1973
Publication Date: 1973
Compiled by the students in Environmental Science 295, University of North Carolina Wilmington, Directed by Paul Hosier
Annotated Bibliography of Research Conducted in the North Carolina National Estuarine Research Reserve: Masonboro Island, Zeke's Island, Rachel Carson and Currituck Banks Components by Johnny E. Lancaster, Robert J. Miltner, and Steve W. Ross
Call Number: QH541.E8 L35 1999
Publication Date: 1999
Eyes in the Sea: Adventures of an Undersea Pioneer by Robert I. Wicklund
Call Number: VM980.W53 A3 2011
Publication Date: 2011

Subject Headings

Here are some subject terms to help you find resources about research and education at the Center for Marine Science throughout its history. You may need to add geographical terms as keywords to narrow down a broad subject heading. For example, try modifying your search string to include "North Carolina" as a keyword in addition to the standard subject heading "Biology -- Study and teaching (Graduate)."

Biology -- Study and teaching (Graduate)
Environmental impact analysis -- North Carolina -- Cape Fear River
Environmental impact analysis -- North Carolina -- New Hanover County
Environmental monitoring -- North Carolina -- Wilmington
Environmental sciences -- Study and teaching (Higher)
Marine biology -- Research -- North Carolina
Marine biology -- Study and teaching -- North Carolina
Marine sciences -- Research -- North Carolina
Marine sciences -- Study and teaching -- North Carolina
Oceanographic research stations
Oceanography -- Research

CMS on the Web

Center for Marine Science (CMS)
The Center for Marine Science fosters a multidisciplinary approach to questions in marine research. Researchers are engaged in basic and applied research in the fields of oceanography, coastal and wetland studies, marine biomedical and environmental physiology, and marine biotechnology and aquaculture.
UNCW Department of Biology & Marine Biology
When UNCW began offering the Bachelor's Degree in Marine Biology in the 1970s, it was one of the few institutions in the world to do so. Biology was one of the original courses of study at Wilmington College when it was established in 1947.