Contact the Center
Center for Southeast North Carolina Archives and History
UNCW Library, Discovery Hall, 2nd floor
5162 Randall Dr.
Wilmington, NC 28403
csencah@uncw.edu
910-962-7810
News Articles
A small sampling of articles from newspapers and other publications about marine sciences at UNCW.
- Record Student Body to Report at College Opening Here Friday“A course in marine biology has been added to the biology department," September 8, 1961
- College Talks of Oceanography Program HereThe Wilmington College Board of Trustees met with North Carolina Governor Dan K. Moore about starting an oceanography program at Wilmington College. October 1, 1968
- College Grows in Marine Study"Wilmington College biology department was given tentative release Tuesday to plan for actual marine biology research this year in an Intra-coastal Waterway facility lent by the Wrightsville Marine Bio-Medical Laboratory” in a loan agreement with WMBL director Ralph W. Brauer. October 24, 1968
- Marine Bio-Medical Laboratory Concentrates on Under WaterFebruary 23, 1969
- New marine research center opens at UNC-WAugust 26, 1974
- Meet UNCW’s Marine Science FacultyDecember, 1975
- Energy development and the future of our fisheriesGilbert Bane, director of programs in Marine Sciences and Environmental Sciences, discusses the impact of drilling on resources. December 14, 1975.
- University to offer new masters biology degreeUNCW will begin planning a graduate program in marine biology. November 15, 1977
- Marine life courses at UNCWAugust, 1978
- From grass to classUNCW acquires its first research vessel, July 8, 1979
- Marine Research Center: Biotechnology Applications ResearchedAn article in the UNCW student newspaper, the Seahawk, about a new marine biotechnology program. November 15, 1990
- The Aquarius Underwater Laboratory: America's "Inner Space" Station (pdf)Article about UNCW's work on the Aquarius underwater research station. This article is available open-access and was published in MTS (Marine Technology Society) Journal in 2000.
UNCW & Regional News
Find marine sciences-related information in these university news sources.
- Campus CommuniqueAs the official news bulletin for university faculty and staff from 1970-2004, the Campus Communique includes campus events, faculty and staff awards, and advertisements.
- Coastal ReviewA daily news service of the North Carolina Coastal Federation
- The SeahawkTheseahawk.org, the student news organization of UNC Wilmington providing online news since 2001
- UNCW MagazinePublished for alumni and friends of the University of North Carolina Wilmington since 1990.
- UNCW Today (University of North Carolina Wilmington Alumni Newsletter)This is a newsletter published by the University of North Carolina Wilmington from 1982-1990. It's currently presented by the North Carolina Digital Heritage Center, a statewide digitization program and digital publishing platform.
- University Archives News Clipping ScrapbooksNews about Wilmington College and the University of North Carolina Wilmington from local newspapers and other publications starting in the 1950s.
More News - UNCW Log-In Required
- Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper CollectionFind historical newspapers from across the United States and beyond. Explore newspaper articles and clippings for help with genealogy, history and other research. 5,100+ newspapers from the 1700's–2000's.
- News & Observer CollectionCoverage of the Raleigh News & Observer from 1991-present.
- North Carolina News SourcesNorth Carolina News Sources is a collection of more than 190 media sources from across the state, including the Wilmington Star News, the Charlotte Observer, and the Raleigh News & Observer.
- Star-NewsCoverage of the Wilmington Morning Star from 1868-1994, the Wilmington News from 1949-1975, and the Star-News from 1994-present.