Indigenous Peoples of Southeast North Carolina

Drawing from the records of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU), it focuses on civil rights, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court. The American Civil Liberties Union has throughout its history consistently stood at the center of controversies involving the rights of Americans. Its records offer researchers a unique view of the inner workings of the organization and the hundreds of groups with which the ACLU interacted. Keyword searches using terms such as "Native Americans," "Indians," and various tribal names yield thousands of results for researchers.

Within ProQuest History Vault the module "American Indians and the American West" contains several collections focusing on the interaction between American Indians and the U.S. government in the 19th and 20th Centuries. Notable collections in this module from the 19th Century focus on Indian Removal from 1832-1840, the U.S. Army and American Indians in the years from the 1850s-1890s, including detailed coverage of Indian Wars. The featured collections on the 20th Century are Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and records from the Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes. The search term "North Carolina" yields hundreds of primary sources for the study of local history.

Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.

Contains more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Retrieve articles by citation, browse, or search across nearly 50 million pages of content. HeinOnline also contains many useful resources for criminology, and public and international affairs, such as the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, the Federal Register from inception in 1936, the CFR from inception in 1938, a library of U.S. Congressional documents, U.S. Federal legislative history and much more.

Under "Browse Databases by Name," select "Indigenous People of the Americas: History, Culture, and Law" to explore keyword searchable collections on the history of indigenous peoples.

A research tool that provides researchers with the opportunity to understand and analyze Native American migration and resettlement throughout U.S. history, as well as U.S. Government Indian removal policies and subsequent actions to address Native American claims. It allows researchers to search Indian claims content by keyword, full text, docket number, and more. Content includes decisions, transcripts, docket books, journals of the Indian Claims Commission, a judicial panel for relations between the U.S. Government and Native American tribes; and related statutes and congressional publications.

ProQuest Congressional is a comprehensive database covering documents published by the Executive and Legislative branches of the United States government. Researchers can begin by clicking "Browse Topics" at the top of the page and then scrolling down to "Tribal Nations: Land Designations" and "Tribal Nations: Recognition and Relationship to the Federal Government."

After clicking the "Advanced" link under the main search box, researchers can type in "Native Americans" and "North Carolina" to find thousands of congressional hearings, proposed bills, and reports. Researchers can also search the names of specific tribes to important primary sources.

The Archives of Gender and Sexuality includes gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracing LGBTQ activism in Britain from 1950 through 1980, and more. Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The archive also contains personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals, among others.

The Will Roscoe Papers and Gay American Indian Records include private and professional papers, clippings, correspondence, and research related to gay American Indians. Founded in 1975, GAI was the first organization to focus on the gay Native American community. Roscoe served as the coordinator of GAI's History Project; and was involved in the founding of Nomenus, an Oregon-based non-profit religious organization serving Radical Faeries, a group with roots in paganism and environmentalism that attaches a spiritual dimension to its members sexuality. To find the Will Roscoe Papers and Gay American Indian Records, click on "Collections" on the top right and scroll to the bottom.