UNCW Student Affairs History

University Archives serves as the repository for official records of all divisions of the University of North Carolina Wilmington as well as other items related to the history of the University. We collect, preserve, arrange, describe, and make available these materials in accordance with the Records Retention and Dispositions Schedule for Institutions of the University of North Carolina System.

This collection consists of administrative files from the Presidents and Chancellors of the institution, including correspondence, reports, installation and inauguration programs, biographical information, and photographs.

The University of North Carolina Wilmington Committee and Administration records include material from offices, departments, campus-wide committees, Staff Senate, and Faculty Senate. Policies, curriculum planning information, Honorary Degree information, meeting minutes, Equal Employment Opportunity/Affirmative Action plans, and records about the establishment of the Upperman African American Student Center are some of the material in this record group. The collection demonstrates the broad range of service and administrative activity conducted by faculty and staff of UNC Wilmington along with administrators. Material from Human Resources and the Office of Institutional Diversity are included in this record group. Originally a locally supported two-year college, Wilmington College joined the University of North Carolina System of public higher education in 1969.

Founded in 1947, Wilmington College became a four-year college in 1965, and then became part of the University of North Carolina System of public higher education in 1969. University of North Carolina Wilmington Student Affairs Records include information about fraternities, sororities, the student government association, student media, student honorary societies, and other student organizations. The Division of Student Affairs oversees intramural and club sports, including football, as well as Transitions Programs, the office responsible for new student orientation and commencement. The Division manages many aspects of the college experience such as student housing, residential life, tutoring and learning services, health services, and disability services. Historic material includes administrators' correspondence, student government meeting minutes, commencement programs, newspapers, yearbooks, periodicals such as literary and creative magazines, departmental newsletters, administrative reports, student handbooks, Codes of Student Life, and marketing materials.

The University of North Carolina Wilmington Athletics Records contains departmental information as well as information from men's and women's team sports offices. Although Wilmington College also had student athletes involved in intercollegiate sports, most of the information in this collection dates from after the Wilmington College period. In 1969, Wilmington College joined the University of North Carolina System of public higher education and became
UNC Wilmington. Departmental records include certification and self-study reports for the National Collegiate Athletic Association, newsletters, press releases, athletic directors' correspondence, and legal information about Title IX. Team records include programs, media guides, and schedules. Teams represented in this record group are baseball, basketball, cheerleading, cross country/track and field, golf, soccer, softball, swimming and diving, tennis, volleyball, and wrestling.

This collection contains theatre professor Doug Swink's memorabilia from his tenure as a Wilmington College faculty member during the 1960s. Included in the collection are slides, performance programs and tickets, photographs, newspaper clippings, and student information bulletins encompassing many facets of student and faculty happenings, as well as theatre news, both on and off campus.

This collection contains materials pertaining to the career of Wayne Jackson, a broadcaster for southeastern North Carolina NBC television affiliate WECT (formerly WMFD). In particular, this collection documents three important events in Wilmington College history including the first televised basketball game in the region (that of the Virgina-Carolina Athletic Conference Junior College Basketball Tournament championship game), a dinner held for the Seahawks baseball team following their Junior College Baseball National Championship win, and the telecast of the first four-year graduation at the college.

This collection contains newspaper clippings of The Hawk's Eye, a regular feature article in the Wilmington Star-News during the late 1940s and the 1950s, and related material. The Hawk's Eye was written by Wilmington College student Carlton L. Rhodes, whose column covered Wilmington College student and academic life. Topics include student organizations, holiday parties, programs, the Fledgling yearbook, athletics, classes, exams. and the acquisition of equipment and furniture for the new college.