Health and Human Services Librarian
Welcome!
Welcome to the Respiratory Therapy Research Guide! Within this guide, you will find information and links to Respiratory Therapy related resources that you may find useful for your classwork and research. Click the tabs on the left side of this page to explore different resources and materials.
Recommended Databases
Use these databases to find scholarly and peer-reviewed material in respiratory therapy, nursing and allied health, and medical journals.
- PubMEDDeveloped by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), PubMed is the most comprehensive biomedical research database, and a key resource used by scientists. Find more detailed information.
- CINAHL UltimateCINAHL Ultimate indexes the top nursing and allied health literature available including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association and includes nearly 1,500 active full text peer-reviewed journals. The database covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.
- Ovid EmcareOvid Emcare includes nearly 5 million records of scholarly and peer-reviewed literature in nursing and allied health dating back to 1995, including abstracts. Subject coverage in clinical medicine, health professions, nursing, pharmacology and public health.
- Health & Medical CollectionOffers comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more. The journals cover all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, surgery, and others. Provides in-depth coverage from over 1,500 publications with almost 1,300 available in full text and of these, over 900 include MEDLINE indexing. Includes all charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to medical research. Part of ProQuest Central. Find more information.
Respiratory Therapy Journals
These journals are key resources for scholarly and peer-reviewed material in the field of Respiratory Therapy. Skip the databases and browse or search the journals directly using the links below.
- Respiratory Care
The official science journal of the American Association for Respiratory Care (AARC), this journal includes articles pertaining to disorders affecting the cardiorespiratory system, including their pathogenesis, pathophysiology, manifestations, diagnostic assessment, monitoring, prevention, and management. It also emphasizes the patient, and on improving all aspects of the care of individuals affected by respiratory disease. - CHEST
Official publication of the American College of Chest Physicians. Focus is on advancing patient care served by clinicians across pulmonary, critical care, and sleep medicine through the publication of clinical research, reviews, and commentaries. - JAMA: The Journal of the American Medical Association
An international peer-reviewed general medical journal published continuously since 1883. - The New England Journal of Medicine
NEJM delivers high-quality, peer-reviewed research and interactive clinical content to physicians, educators, researchers, and the global medical community. - American Journal of Respiratory and Critical Care Medicine
Publishes high-quality original papers, reviews, and clinical trials in respiratory, critical care, and sleep medicine to foster advances in translational research and clinical practice. - Internet Journal of Allied Health Sciences and PracticeInternationally peer-reviewed, open-access, scholarly, online journal dedicated to the global exploration of allied health professional practice, research, and education.
- Interlibrary LoanService through the Randall Library that helps users borrow items from other libraries if they are not available at UNCW.
Other Helpful Article Databases
Check out these databases for more articles about allied health, health services, and a variety of disciplines.
- Cochrane LibraryThe Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups. Databases included are Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA) and NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED). Find more information.
- Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile)Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health includes full-text titles cited in CINAHL to support specialized care, treatment, and patient management. Nursing and Allied Health helps nursing professionals working in the field as well as students studying a nursing-focused curriculum.
- Web of ScienceThis collection of databases offers an integrated, versatile research platform, it delivers easy access to high quality, diversified scholarly information in anthropology, biology, chemistry, biochemistry, criminology, education, environmental sciences, geography, geology, marine sciences, mathematics and statistics, physics, psychology, social work, sociology, as well as search and analysis tools that enhance this content. Includes Web of Science Core Collection, which consists of multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide. Find more detailed information.
- ScienceDirectOffers access to most of the Elsevier Journal collection covering the sciences, business, child development, computer science, clinical research, economics, history, hospitality, industrial technology, library and information science, physical education and health, psychology, social work, sociology, and tourism. Find more detailed information.
- Google ScholarProvides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature, including articles, papers, theses, books, and reports. If you are off-campus, and do not see the Find article @ UNCW link, you can configure your Google settings. Find more information.
Open Access Repositories
The resources below are freely available databases that may include a variety of material: preprint (draft or preliminary) versions of articles, conference papers and/or posters, book chapters, white papers, and more. These repositories help speed up dissemination and enhance discoverability and access to early-stage scholarship across disciplines.
It is important to note that these materials have likely not been edited or benefited from the pivotal role of peer-review, which validates and improves the quality of final published journal articles.
- Medical Research Network (MedRN)Repository for preprints in medicine; medical education; research on infectious diseases, illnesses, and health conditions; clinical practice, diagnostic assessments, diagnoses, treatments, and health outcomes.