NC Digital Heritage Center
- North Carolina Digital Heritage Center
If a title listed in this guide has issues available in the NC Digital Heritage Center, click the link above and use the "Newspapers" search box on the righthand side of the page to search for the title of the newspaper you're seeking. You will then be able to browse, download, print, and/or keyword search the available issues.
Chronicling America
- Chronicling America - North Carolina Newspapers
If a title listed in this guide has issues available in the Chronicling America database, click the link above to view a full list of North Carolina newspapers, then locate the newspaper's title in the list. Click the title to browse, download, print, and/or keyword search the available issues.
Historic NC Digital Newspapers
- Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection
If a newspaper in this guide is available in the Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection, click the link above, then use the "Browse" link in the top left corner of the page to navigate to the title you're interested in. Please note that access to this database is restricted to current UNCW students, faculty, and staff OR any person with a library card from a North Carolina public library.
Locating Newspapers in WorldCat
To locate print and microfilm copies of newspapers listed in this guide held outside UNCW Library, click the WorldCat logo below, then copy and paste the OCLC number associated with the newspaper into the WorldCat search box. You will then be able to see which libraries across the country hold copies of the newspaper, and which formats are available (e.g. print issues, microfilm, or digital copies).
Contact the Center
Center for Southeast North Carolina Archives and History
UNCW Library, Discovery Hall, 2nd floor
5162 Randall Dr.
Wilmington, NC 28403
csencah@uncw.edu
910-962-7810
Battery Buzzer
OCLC Number: 40855634
City of Publication: Fort Caswell
Print Status: Defunct (published 1918)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available: None
Southport Herald
OCLC Number: 24986251
City of Publication: Southport
Print Status: Defunct (published 1905-1909)
Digitized Copies Available:
- North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1905-1909
- Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1905-1909
Microfilm Copies Available:
- UNCW Library: 1905-1909
- State Archives of North Carolina: 1905; 1908-1909
Note: Absorbed Southport Standard in 1905.
Southport Leader
OCLC Number: 24986209
City of Publication: Southport
Print Status: Defunct (published 1890-1896)
Digitized Copies Available:
- North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1890-1896
- Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1890-1896
Microfilm Copies Available:
- UNCW Library: 1890-1896
- State Archives of North Carolina:1890-1896
Southport Standard
OCLC Number: 24986234
City of Publication: Southport
Print Status: Defunct (published 1897-1905)
Digitized Copies Available:
- North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1897-1905
- Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1897-1905
Microfilm Copies Available:
- UNCW Library: 1897-1905
- State Archives of North Carolina: 1897-1905
Note: Absorbed by Southport Herald in 1905.
State Port Pilot
OCLC Number: 13277473
City of Publication: Southport
Print Status: In print (founded 1928)
Digitized Copies Available:
- North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1935-1976, 1992-1999
- UNCW Library Digital Collections: 1977-1991
Microfilm Copies Available:
- UNCW Library: 1935-1996
- State Archives of North Carolina: 1935-1950; 1977-1996
Print Copies at UNCW Library: 2017-present
Towncreek Courier
OCLC Number: 39847358
City of Publication: Towncreek
Print Status: Defunct (dates of publication unknown)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available:
- UNCW Library: 1898?
- State Archives of North Carolina: 1898