NC Digital Heritage Center
- North Carolina Digital Heritage Center
If a title listed in this guide has issues available in the NC Digital Heritage Center, click the link above and use the "Newspapers" search box on the righthand side of the page to search for the title of the newspaper you're seeking. You will then be able to browse, download, print, and/or keyword search the available issues.
Chronicling America
- Chronicling America - North Carolina Newspapers
If a title listed in this guide has issues available in the Chronicling America database, click the link above to view a full list of North Carolina newspapers, then locate the newspaper's title in the list. Click the title to browse, download, print, and/or keyword search the available issues.
Historic NC Digital Newspapers
- Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection
If a newspaper in this guide is available in the Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection, click the link above, then use the "Browse" link in the top left corner of the page to navigate to the title you're interested in. Please note that access to this database is restricted to current UNCW students, faculty, and staff OR any person with a library card from a North Carolina public library.
Locating Newspapers in WorldCat
To locate print and microfilm copies of newspapers listed in this guide held outside UNCW Library, click the WorldCat logo below, then copy and paste the OCLC number associated with the newspaper into the WorldCat search box. You will then be able to see which libraries across the country hold copies of the newspaper, and which formats are available (e.g. print issues, microfilm, or digital copies).
Contact the Center
Center for Southeast North Carolina Archives and History
UNCW Library, Discovery Hall, 2nd floor
5162 Randall Dr.
Wilmington, NC 28403
csencah@uncw.edu
910-962-7810
Amateur Dial
OCLC Number: 27306418
City of Publication: Point Caswell
Print Status: Defunct (published 1884)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available: None
Notes: Continues the Caswell Times.
Burgaw Herald
OCLC Number: 39296403
City of Publication: Burgaw
Print Status: Defunct (published 1889)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available:
- State Archives of North Carolina: 1889
Caswell Times
OCLC Number: 27471577
City of Publication: Point Caswell
Print Status: Defunct (published 1883)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available: None
Notes: Continued by the Amateur Dial.
Pender Chronicle
OCLC Number: 13247075
City of Publication: Burgaw
Print Status: Defunct (published 1902-2012?)
Digitized Copies Available:
- North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1914-1943
- Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1912-1943
Microfilm Copies Available:
- State Archives of North Carolina: 1912-2012
Pender County News
OCLC Number: 40856223
City of Publication: Burgaw
Print Status: Defunct (published 1934-1935)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available:
- State Archives of North Carolina: 1934-1935
Pender Post
OCLC Number: 28598394
City of Publication: Burgaw
Print Status: Defunct (published 1971-2012)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available:
- State Archives of North Carolina: 1971-2012
Notes: Merged with the Topsail Voice in 2012.
Pender Star
OCLC Number: Unknown
City of Publication: Burgaw
Print Status: Defunct (published 1896-1898?)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available: None
Notes: Absorbed by the Sampson Democrat. No known copies exist.
Pender-Topsail Post and Voice
OCLC Number: 805227918
City of Publication: Burgaw
Print Status: In print (founded 2012)
Digitized Copies Available:
- Access World News: 2010-present (access restricted to current UNCW students, faculty, and staff)
Microfilm Copies Available:
- State Archives of North Carolina: 2012-2017
Print Copies at UNCW Library: 2017-present
Notes: Created by the merger of the Pender Post and the Topsail Voice in 2012.
Topsail Voice
OCLC Number: 32600106
City of Publication: Hampstead
Print Status: Defunct (published 1992-2012)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available:
- State Archives of North Carolina: 1992-2012
Notes: Merged with the Pender Post in 2012.