Southeast North Carolina Newspapers

Alternate Title(s): Wilmington Advertiser and Merchants' and Farmers' Gazette
OCLC Number: 11966210
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1833-1841)
Digitized Copies Available:

• Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1833

Microfilm Copies Available:

• UNCW Library: 1837-1841
• State Archives of North Carolina: 1833-1841

Notes: Continues People's Press.

OCLC Number: 990507903
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1879-1938)
Digitized Copies Available:

• North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1880-1938
• Chronicling America: 1899

OCLC Number: 1021049893
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (dates of publication unknown)
Digitized Copies Available:

• North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1883-1884
• Chronicling America:1883-1884

Microfilm Copies Available:

• State Archives of North Carolina: 1884

OCLC Number: 25235554
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1876-1877)
Digitized Copies Available:

• North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1876-1877
• Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1876-1877

Microfilm Copies Available:

• State Archives of North Carolina: 1876-1877

OCLC Number: 25141511
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1802-1803)
Digitized Copies Available:

• North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1803
• Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1803

Microfilm Copies Available:

• UNCW Library: 1803?
• State Archives of North Carolina: 1803

OCLC Number: 9831757
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1769-1775)
Digitized Copies Available:

• North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1769-1775

Microfilm Copies Available:

• State Archives of North Carolina: 1769-1775

OCLC Number: 9820689
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1816-1832)
Digitized Copies Available:

• North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1816-1827; 1829-1832
• Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1816-1832

Microfilm Copies Available:

• UNCW Library: 1816-1832
• State Archives of North Carolina: 1816-1827; 1829-1832 

OCLC Number: 25162074
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1867-1869; 1872; 1923-1925)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available:

• UNCW Library: 1867-1905
• State Archives of North Carolina: 1924-1925

Notes: Continues Carolina Farmer and  Morning Star. Continued by Union Labor Record and Carolina Farmer.

OCLC Number: 25415866
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1869-1871)
Digitized Copies Available:

• North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1869-1871

Microfilm Copies Available:

• UNCW Library: 1869-1871
• State Archives of North Carolina: 1869-1871

Notes: Continues Carolina Farmer. Continued by Carolina Farmer (1872) and Weekly Star.

OCLC Number: 9831742
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1788-1789)
Digitized Copies Available:

• North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1788-1789

Microfilm Copies Available:

• UNCW Library: 1788-1789
• State Archives of North Carolina: 1788-1789

OCLC Number: 12008587
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1840-1851)
Digitized Copies Available:

• North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1840-1851
• Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1840-1851

Microfilm Copies Available:

• UNCW Library: 1840-1851

OCLC Number: 9831726
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1795-1796)
Digitized Copies Available:

•  North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1796
• Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1796

Microfilm Copies Available:

• State Archives of North Carolina: 1795-1796

Alternate Title(s): Tri-Weekly Commercial
OCLC Number: 26060231
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1846-1858)
Digitized Copies Available:

• North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1846-1858

Microfilm Copies Available:

• State Archives of North Carolina: 1846; 1848-1852; 1854; 1857

OCLC Number: 25194146
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1865-1867)
Digitized Copies Available:

• North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1865-1867
• Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1865-1867

Microfilm Copies Available:

• UNCW Library: 1865-1867
• State Archives of North Carolina: 1865-1867

Alternate Title(s): Wilmington Herald
OCLC Number: 25141620
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1854-1867)
Digitized Copies Available:

• North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1854-1855; 1854-1861; 1865-1866
• Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1854-1861; 1865-1866

Microfilm Copies Available:

• UNCW Library: 1854-1863; 1865-1867
• State Archives of North Carolina: 1854-1861; 1865-1866

Notes: Continues Herald of the Union

OCLC Number: 9949075
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1851-1878)
Digitized Copies Available:

• North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1851-1877
• Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1851-1877

Microfilm Copies Available:

• UNCW Library: 1851-1877

OCLC Number: 24346804
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1859-1865?)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available:

• State Archives of North Carolina: 1859-1860; 1864-1865

OCLC Number: 25278042
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1895?-1898)
Digitized Copies Available:

• North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1895-1898

Microfilm Copies Available:

• State Archives of North Carolina: 1898

OCLC Number: 10481383
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1875-1895)
Digitized Copies Available:

• North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1875-1891; 1893-1894
• Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1876-1894

Microfilm Copies Available:

• UNCW Library: 1876-1891; 1893-1895
• State Archives of North Carolina: 1876-1891; 1893-1895

Notes: Continues Evening Review.

OCLC Number: 25235531
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1916-1919)
Digitized Copies Available:

• North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1916-1919
• Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1916-1919

Microfilm Copies Available:

• State Archives of North Carolina: 1916-1919

Notes: Continues Evening Dispatch.

OCLC Number: 25107245
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1877-1878)
Digitized Copies Available:

• North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1877-1878
• Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1877-1878

Microfilm Copies Available:

• UNCW Library: 1877?
• State Archives of North Carolina: 1877-1878

OCLC Number: 25235507
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1895-1916)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available:

• State Archives of North Carolina: 1895-1916

Notes: Continued by Wilmington Dispatch.

OCLC Number: 12625595
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1875-1876)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available:

• UNCW Library: 1875-1876
• State Archives of North Carolina: 1875-1876

Notes: Continued by the Daily Review.

OCLC Number: 243597071
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: In print (founded 2003)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available: None
Print Copies at UNCW Library: 2017-present

Alternate Title(s): Hall's Wilmington Gazette
OCLC Number: 9813503
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1779-1816)
Digitized Copies Available:

• North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1797-1816
• Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1801-1816

Microfilm Copies Available:

• UNCW Library: 1801-1816
• State Archives of North Carolina: 1797-1816

OCLC Number: 867305250
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: In print (founded 2000?)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available: None
Print Copies at UNCW Library: 2001-present

OCLC Number: 824359878
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (1968-1978?)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available: None
Print Copies at UNCW Library: 1968-1971, 1975 June 30

OCLC Number: 1010952554
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (dates of publication unknown)
Digitized Copies Available:

• North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1900

Microfilm Copies Available: None

OCLC Number: 1449556486
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (dates of publication unknown)
Digitized Copies Available:

• North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1894

Microfilm Copies Available: None

Note: This title is identified as a Black-owned newspaper distinct from the Cape Fear Herald/Daily Herald

OCLC Number: 12626005
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1865)
Digitized Copies Available:

• North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1865

Microfilm Copies Available:

• UNCW Library: 1865
• State Archives of North Carolina: 1865

Notes: Continued by the Daily Herald.

OCLC Number: 32986519
City of Publication: Carolina Beach
Print Status: Defunct (published 1978-2023)
Digitized Copies Available: Currently being digitized by UNCW Library. This guide will be updated with access information once the digitization project is complete.
Microfilm Copies Available: None
Print Copies at UNCW Library: 2017-2023

OCLC Number: 25278010
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1905-1906)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available:

• State Archives of North Carolina: 1906

OCLC Number: 10481448
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1844-1894)
Digitized Copies Available:

• North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1844-1877; 1880; 1893-1894
• Chronicling America: 1844-1876
• Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1844-1877

Microfilm Copies Available:

• UNCW Library: 1844-1876
• State Archives of North Carolina: 1844-1876

Print Copies at UNCW Library: 1866-1870

Alternate Title(s): Cape Fear Journal
OCLC Number: 29748312
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: In print
Digitized Copies Available:

• North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1952

Microfilm Copies Available:

• UNCW Library: 1977-1982

Print Copies at UNCWLibrary: 1968, 1971, 1995-2013

OCLC Number: 25141714
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1827-1829)
Digitized Copies Available:

• North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1829
• Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1829

Microfilm Copies Available:

• UNCW Library: 1829?
• State Archives of North Carolina: 1829

Alternate titles: Weekly Transcript and Messenger; Weekly Messenger; Daily Messenger
OCLC Number: 24486730
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1869?-1908)
Digitized Copies Available:

• North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1869-1908
• Chronicling America: 1897-1908
• Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1892-1908; 1888-1908

Microfilm Copies Available:

• UNCW Library: 1887-1908
• State Archives of North Carolina: 1887-1908

Notes: Continues Goldsboro Messenger (Goldsboro, N.C.).

OCLC Number: 4376904
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1867-1994)
Digitized Copies Available:

• North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1867-1947
• Chronicling America: 1940-1947
• Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1867-1922
• Star-News Database: 1868-1994 (access restricted to current UNCW students, faculty, and staff)

Microfilm Copies Available:

• UNCW Library: 1923-1939; 1948
• State Archives of North Carolina: 1867-1909

Notes: Absorbed by the Star-News.

OCLC Number: 24606950
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1896)
Digitized Copies Available:

• North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1896
• Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1896

Microfilm Copies Available:

• UNCW Library: 1896
• State Archives of North Carolina: 1896

OCLC Number: 25661140
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1949-1975)
Digitized Copies Available:

• Star-News Database: 1949-1975 (access restricted to current UNCW students, faculty, and staff)

Microfilm Copies Available: None
Notes: Absorbed by the Wilmington Morning Star.

OCLC Number: 25146466
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1882-1883)
Digitized Copies Available:

• North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1882-1883
• Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1882-1883

Microfilm Copies Available:

• UNCW Library: 1882?
• State Archives of North Carolina: 1882-1883

Alternate Title(s): Wilmington Post-Boy
OCLC Number: 9831780
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1764-1766)
Digitized Copies Available:

• North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1765-1766
• Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1765-1766

Microfilm Copies Available:

• State Archives of North Carolina: 1765-1766

OCLC Number: 38471964
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1942-1946)
Digitized Copies Available:

• Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1942-1946

Microfilm Copies Available:

• UNCW Library: 1942-1946
• State Archives of North Carolina: 1942-1946

OCLC Number: 25146386
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1881)
Digitized Copies Available:

• North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1881
• Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1881

Microfilm Copies Available:

• UNCW Library: 1881
• State Archives of North Carolina: 1881

OCLC Number: 11777359
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1833-1836)
Digitized Copies Available:

• North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1833
• Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1833

Microfilm Copies Available:

• UNCW Library: 1833
• State Archives of North Carolina: 1833

Notes: Continued by Wilmington Advertiser.

Alternate titles: Weekly Post; Semi-Weekly Post; Daily Post
OCLC Number: 12625357
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1867-1884)
Digitized Copies Available:

• North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1867-1884
• Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1867-1884

Microfilm Copies Available:

• UNCW Library: 1867-1884
• State Archives of North Carolina: 1869-1875

OCLC Number: 25162042
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: 1915-1919
Digitized Copies Available:

• North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1915-1919

Microfilm Copies Available:

• UNCW Library: 1915-1919
• State Archives of North Carolina: 1915-1919

Notes: Continued by the Union Labor Record.

• 1867-1923: accessible online via the Star-News database OR the North Carolina Digital Heritage Center.
• 1923-1939: Available on microfilm at UNCW Library.
• 1940-1947: accessible online via Chronicling America OR the North Carolina Digital Heritage Center.
• 1948: Available on microfilm at UNCW Library.
• 1949-1994: accessible online via the Star-News database.
• 1995-2018: accessible online via the Star-News database (text only; no images or full page facsimiles available).
• 2019-present: accessible online via the Star-News database.

If you need an issue that hasn't been digitized, you can visit UNCW Library to request the microfilm version of the newspaper. See the catalog record below for more information.

OCLC Number: 25176721
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1878-1879)
Digitized Copies Available:

• North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1878-1879
• Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1878-1879

Microfilm Copies Available:

• UNCW Library: 1878-1879

OCLC Number: 25146415
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1884)
Digitized Copies Available:

• North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1884
• Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1884

Microfilm Copies Available:

• UNCW Library: 1884
• State Archives of North Carolina: 1884

OCLC Number: 25277983
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1876-1877)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available:

• State Archives of North Carolina: 1877

OCLC Number: 12639842
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1809-1810)
Digitized Copies Available:

• North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1809
• Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1809

Microfilm Copies Available:

• UNCW Library: 1809-1810?
• State Archives of North Carolina: 1809

OCLC Number: 25162089
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1922-1937)
Digitized Copies Available:

• North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1922; 1934-1937
• Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1922; 1934-1937

Microfilm Copies Available:

• UNCW Library: 1922; 1934-1937
• State Archives of North Carolina: 1922; 1934-1937

Notes: Continues Saturday Record.

OCLC Number: 12009237
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1846?-1857)
Digitized Copies Available:

• North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1848-1854
• Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1848-1854

Microfilm Copies Available:

• State Archives of North Carolina: 1846; 1848-1852; 1854; 1857

OCLC Number: 10482618
City of Publication: Wilmington
Print Status: Defunct (published 1871-1913)
Digitized Copies Available:

• North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1871-1905
• Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1871-1905

Microfilm Copies Available:

• UNCW Library: 1871-1877; 1884-1886; 1899-1901
• State Archives of North Carolina: 1872-1906

Notes: Continues Carolina Farmer and Morning Star.