NC Digital Heritage Center
- North Carolina Digital Heritage Center
If a title listed in this guide has issues available in the NC Digital Heritage Center, click the link above and use the "Newspapers" search box on the righthand side of the page to search for the title of the newspaper you're seeking. You will then be able to browse, download, print, and/or keyword search the available issues.
Chronicling America
- Chronicling America - North Carolina Newspapers
If a title listed in this guide has issues available in the Chronicling America database, click the link above to view a full list of North Carolina newspapers, then locate the newspaper's title in the list. Click the title to browse, download, print, and/or keyword search the available issues.
Historic NC Digital Newspapers
- Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection
If a newspaper in this guide is available in the Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection, click the link above, then use the "Browse" link in the top left corner of the page to navigate to the title you're interested in. Please note that access to this database is restricted to current UNCW students, faculty, and staff OR any person with a library card from a North Carolina public library.
Locating Newspapers in WorldCat
To locate print and microfilm copies of newspapers listed in this guide held outside UNCW Library, click the WorldCat logo below, then copy and paste the OCLC number associated with the newspaper into the WorldCat search box. You will then be able to see which libraries across the country hold copies of the newspaper, and which formats are available (e.g. print issues, microfilm, or digital copies).
Contact the Center
Center for Southeast North Carolina Archives and History
UNCW Library, Discovery Hall, 2nd floor
5162 Randall Dr.
Wilmington, NC 28403
csencah@uncw.edu
910-962-7810
County Audit
OCLC Number:39196976
City of Publication: Faison
Print Status: Defunct (published in 1922)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available: None
Duplin Citizen
OCLC Number: 30682255
City of Publication: Warsaw
Print Status: Defunct (printed 1946?-1950)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available:
- State Archives of North Carolina: 1949-1950
Notes: Continued by Warsaw-Faison News.
Duplin Enterprise
OCLC Number: 34871948
City of Publication: Rose Hill
Print Status: Defunct (published 1911-1914)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available:
- State Archives of North Carolina: 1912-1914
Duplin Herald
OCLC Number: 31906241
City of Publication: Warsaw
Print Status: Defunct (published 1933?-1938)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available:
- UNCW Library: 1935-1938
- State Archives of North Carolina: 1935; 1938
Notes: Created by the merger of the Duplin Record (Warsaw) and the Duplin Journal.
Duplin Journal
OCLC Number: 24222937
City of Publication: Faison
Print Status: Defunct (published 1901-1902)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available:
- UNCW Library: 1901-1902
- State Archives of North Carolina: 1901-1902
Notes: Merged with Duplin Record (Warsaw) to form the Duplin Herald.
Duplin-Pender Enterprise
OCLC Number: 43593321
City of Publication: Rose Hill
Print Status: Defunct (published 1921)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available:
- State Archives of North Carolina: 1921
Notes: After the company that printed The Enterprise was destroyed by fire, this abbreviated issue of the newspaper was printed. It's probably related to the Duplin Enterprise.
Duplin Record (Magnolia)
Alternate Title(s): Weekly Record
OCLC Number: 24610997
City of Publication: Magnolia
Print Status: Defunct (published 1874-1877)
Digitized Copies Available:
- North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1874-1877
- Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1874-1877
Microfilm Copies Available:
- UNCW Library: 1874-1877
- State Archives of North Carolina: 1874-1877
Duplin Record (Warsaw)
OCLC Number: 39232073
City of Publication: Warsaw
Print Status: Defunct (published 1915?-1922)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available:
- State Archives of North Carolina: 1921-1922
Notes: Merged with the Duplin Journal to form the Duplin Herald.
Duplin Times (Warsaw)
OCLC Number: 26889703
City of Publication: Warsaw
Print Status: Defunct (1933-1963)
Digitized Copies Available:
- North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1935-1963
Microfilm Copies Available:
- UNCW Library: 1935-1946
Notes: Merged with the Progress Sentinel to form the Duplin Times Progress Sentinel in 1963.
Duplin Times Progress Sentinel
OCLC Number: 13181993
City of Publication: Kenansville
Print Status: In print (founded 1963)
Digitized Copies Available:
- North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1963-1985
Microfilm Copies Available:
- UNCW Library: None
- State Archives of North Carolina: 1963-1986; 2003-2004
Print Copies at UNCW Library: 2018-present
Notes: Created by the merger of the Duplin Times and the Progress Sentinel in 1963.
Eastern Carolina News
OCLC Number: 24512956
City of Publication: Kenansville
Print Status: Defunct (1905?-1911)
Digitized Copies Available:
- North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1908-1911
- Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1908-1911
Microfilm Copies Available:
- UNCW Library: 1908-1911
- State Archives of North Carolina: 1908-1911
Junior Times
OCLC Number: 38052372
City of Publication: Warsaw
Print Status: Defunct (published 1941-1943)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available:
- UNCW Library: 1941-1943
- State Archives of North Carolina: 1941-1943
Magnolia Advertiser
OCLC Number: 24611104
City of Publication: Magnolia
Print Status: Defunct (published 1872)
Digitized Copies Available:
- North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1872
- Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1872
Microfilm Copies Available:
- UNCW Library: 1872
- State Archives of North Carolina: 1872
Monitor
OCLC Number: 10438894
City of Publication: Magnolia
Print Status: Defunct (published 1872?-1876)
Digitized Copies Available:
- North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1873-1876
- Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1876-1876
Microfilm Copies Available:
- UNCW Library: 1873-1876
- State Archives of North Carolina:1873-876
Mount Olive Advertiser
OCLC Number: 24943720
City of Publication: Mount Olive
Print Status: Defunct (published 1898-1900)
Digitized Copies Available:
- North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1898; 1900
- Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1898; 1900
Microfilm Copies Available:
- UNCW Library: 1898; 1900
- State Archives of North Carolina: 1898; 1900
Mount Olive Tribune
OCLC Number: 13222697
City of Publication: Mount Olive
Print Status: In print (founded 1903?)
Digitized Copies Available:
- North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1942-1944; 1954-1956
Microfilm Copies Available:
- UNCW Library: 1942-1956
- State Archives of North Carolina: 1906-2014
Warsaw Brief Mention
OCLC Number: 11922092
City of Publication: Warsaw
Print Status: Defunct (published 1879-1882)
Digitized Copies Available:
- North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1880
- Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1880
Microfilm Copies Available:
- UNCW Library: 1880
- State Archives of North Carolina: 1880
Warsaw-Faison News
OCLC Number: 13291921
City of Publication: Warsaw
Print Status: Defunct (1949-1992)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available:
- UNCW Library: 1949-1992
- State Archives of North Carolina: 1951-1992
Notes: Continues the Duplin Citizen.