Contact the Center
Center for Southeast North Carolina Archives and History
UNCW Library, Discovery Hall, 2nd floor
5162 Randall Dr.
Wilmington, NC 28403
csencah@uncw.edu
910-962-7810
Introduction
This guide lists the various historical and current newspapers produced in the eight-county Southeast North Carolina region, including information on how to locate and access them. Many of these newspapers have been partially or fully digitized and made accessible online. This guide primarily draws on the digital collections of the North Carolina Digital Heritage Center, Chronicling America Project, and Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection, which are described in more detail below. It also explains how to search Worldcat.org for print copies of newspapers, in the event that a particular title is not available online or on microfilm.
This guide is intended to be thorough but not exhaustive. If you are unable to find the information you're looking for after consulting the resources in this guide, please reach out to us so that we may assist you.
Last updated August 2024.
North Carolina Digital Heritage Center
- North Carolina Digital Heritage Center
The North Carolina Digital Heritage Center is a statewide digitization and digital publishing program that works with cultural heritage institutions of all sizes across North Carolina to digitize and publish historic materials online. This website includes yearbooks, newspapers, images, memorabilia, city directories, and audiovisual content from institutions across the state.
If a title listed in this guide has issues available in the NC Digital Heritage Center, click the link above and use the "Newspapers" search box on the righthand side of the page to search for the title of the newspaper you're seeking. You will then be able to browse, download, print, and/or keyword search the available issues.
Chronicling America Project
- Chronicling America - North Carolina Newspapers
Chronicling America is a collaborative project sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress to create a searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historical pages. The database includes historical newspapers from all 50 U.S. states that collectively span a date range of 1777 to 1963.
If a title listed in this guide has issues available in the Chronicling America database, click the link above to view a full list of North Carolina newspapers, then locate the newspaper's title in the list. Click the title to browse, download, print, and/or keyword search the available issues.
Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection
- Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection
Sponsored by NC Live and powered by Newspapers.com, Newspapers.com, this database contains approximately 3.5 million pages of digitized content from over 1,000 NC county newspapers. Please note that access to this database is restricted to current UNCW students, faculty, and staff OR any person with a library card from a North Carolina public library.
If a newspaper in this guide is available in the Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection, click the link above, then use the "Browse" link in the top left corner of the page to navigate to the title you're interested in.
Locating Newspapers in WorldCat
To locate print and microfilm copies of newspapers listed in this guide held outside UNCW Library, click the WorldCat logo below, then copy and paste the OCLC number associated with the newspaper into the WorldCat search box. You will then be able to see which libraries across the country hold copies of the newspaper, and which formats are available (e.g. print issues, microfilm, or digital copies).
