NC Digital Heritage Center
- North Carolina Digital Heritage Center
If a title listed in this guide has issues available in the NC Digital Heritage Center, click the link above and use the "Newspapers" search box on the righthand side of the page to search for the title of the newspaper you're seeking. You will then be able to browse, download, print, and/or keyword search the available issues.
Chronicling America
- Chronicling America - North Carolina Newspapers
If a title listed in this guide has issues available in the Chronicling America database, click the link above to view a full list of North Carolina newspapers, then locate the newspaper's title in the list. Click the title to browse, download, print, and/or keyword search the available issues.
Historic NC Digital Newspapers
- Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection
If a newspaper in this guide is available in the Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection, click the link above, then use the "Browse" link in the top left corner of the page to navigate to the title you're interested in. Please note that access to this database is restricted to current UNCW students, faculty, and staff OR any person with a library card from a North Carolina public library.
Locating Newspapers in WorldCat
To locate print and microfilm copies of newspapers listed in this guide held outside UNCW Library, click the WorldCat logo below, then copy and paste the OCLC number associated with the newspaper into the WorldCat search box. You will then be able to see which libraries across the country hold copies of the newspaper, and which formats are available (e.g. print issues, microfilm, or digital copies).
Contact the Center
Center for Southeast North Carolina Archives and History
UNCW Library, Discovery Hall, 2nd floor
5162 Randall Dr.
Wilmington, NC 28403
csencah@uncw.edu
910-962-7810
Caucasian
Alternate Title(s): Weekly Caucasian
OCLC Number: 24090058
City of Publication: *Clinton (see note)
Print Status: Defunct (published 1882-1913)
Digitized Copies Available:
- North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1884-1913
- Chronicling America: 1884-1913
- Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1895-1913
Microfilm Copies Available:
- UNCW Library: 1892-1913
Notes: Absorbed the Farmer's Advocate (Tarboro, N.C.). Absorbed by the Union Republican (Winston-Salem, N.C.). Published in Clinton 1892-1893, Goldsboro 1893-1894, and Raleigh 1894-1913.
Clinton Independent
OCLC Number: 24117954
City of Publication: Clinton
Print Status: Defunct (published 1856-1858)
Digitized Copies Available:
- North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1856; 1858
- Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1856; 1858
Microfilm Copies Available: None
Holiness Advocate
OCLC Number: 28235224
City of Publication: Clinton
Print Status: Defunct (published 1901-1908)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available: None
Notes: Originally published in Goldsboro.
News Dispatch
OCLC Number: 24130134
City of Publication: Clinton
Print Status: Defunct (published 1908-1924)
Digitized Copies Available:
- Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1909-1917
Microfilm Copies Available:
- UNCW Library: 1909-1917
- State Archives of North Carolina: 1909-1917
Notes: Merged with the Sampson Democrat in 1924.
News Dispatch and Sampson Democrat
OCLC Number: 25761978
City of Publication: Clinton
Print Status: Defunct (published 1924)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available: None
Notes: Created by the merger of the Sampson Democrat and the News Dispatch. Continued by the Sampson Independent.
Reporter
OCLC Number: 24117974
City of Publication: Clinton
Print Status: Defunct (dates of publication unknown)
Digitized Copies Available:
- North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1873-1874
- Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1873-1874
Microfilm Copies Available:
- UNCW Library: 1873-1874; 1892?
Sampson Democrat
OCLC Number: 11472245
City of Publication: Clinton
Print Status: Defunct (published 1892-1924)
Digitized Copies Available:
- North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1892-1901; 1909-1921
- Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection: 1892-1921
Microfilm Copies Available:
- UNCW Library: 1893-1895; 1920-1924
- State Archives of North Carolina: 1892-1901; 1916-1924
Notes: Absorbed the Pender Star. Merged with the News Dispatch in 1924.
Sampsonian
OCLC Number: 31854313
City of Publication: Clinton
Print Status: Defunct (published 1934?-1976)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available:
- UNCW Library: 1957-1976
- State Archives of North Carolina: 1957-1976
Notes: Absorbed by the Sampson Independent.
Sampson Independent
OCLC Number: 13264721
City of Publication: Clinton
Print Status: In print (founded 1924)
Digitized Copies Available:
- North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1924-1928; 1995
Microfilm Copies Available:
- UNCW Library: 1924-1962; 1966; 1976-1993
- State Archives of North Carolina: 1924-1962; 1966; 1976-1993
Notes: Absorbed the Sampsonian, Sampson Democrat, and News Dispatch.
Sampson News
OCLC Number: 24154212
City of Publication: Clinton
Print Status: Defunct (published 1930-1955)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available:
- UNCW Library: 1930-1955
- State Archives of North Carolina: 1930-1955