NC Digital Heritage Center
- North Carolina Digital Heritage Center
If a title listed in this guide has issues available in the NC Digital Heritage Center, click the link above and use the "Newspapers" search box on the righthand side of the page to search for the title of the newspaper you're seeking. You will then be able to browse, download, print, and/or keyword search the available issues.
Chronicling America
- Chronicling America - North Carolina Newspapers
If a title listed in this guide has issues available in the Chronicling America database, click the link above to view a full list of North Carolina newspapers, then locate the newspaper's title in the list. Click the title to browse, download, print, and/or keyword search the available issues.
Historic NC Digital Newspapers
- Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection
If a newspaper in this guide is available in the Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection, click the link above, then use the "Browse" link in the top left corner of the page to navigate to the title you're interested in. Please note that access to this database is restricted to current UNCW students, faculty, and staff OR any person with a library card from a North Carolina public library.
Locating Newspapers in WorldCat
To locate print and microfilm copies of newspapers listed in this guide held outside UNCW Library, click the WorldCat logo below, then copy and paste the OCLC number associated with the newspaper into the WorldCat search box. You will then be able to see which libraries across the country hold copies of the newspaper, and which formats are available (e.g. print issues, microfilm, or digital copies).
Contact the Center
Center for Southeast North Carolina Archives and History
UNCW Library, Discovery Hall, 2nd floor
5162 Randall Dr.
Wilmington, NC 28403
csencah@uncw.edu
910-962-7810
A.A. Barrage
OCLC Number: 52278304
City of Publication: Camp Davis
Print Status: Defunct (published 1943-1944)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available:
- State Archives of North Carolina: 1943-1944
Beacon
OCLC Number: 615589899
City of Publication: Swansboro
Print Status: Defunct (published 2002)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available:
- State Archives of North Carolina: 2002
Camp Lejeune Globe
OCLC Number: 32661922
City of Publication: Camp Lejeune
Print Status: Defunct (published 1944-2020)
Digitized Copies Available: Back issues of the Globe (1944-2020) can be accessed online via the Defense Digital Information Distribution Service. To locate issues in the database, enter the search string Camp Lejeune The Globe XXXX into the search box, replacing XXXX with the year in which you are interested. This will bring up a full list of issues from that year.
Microfilm Copies Available:
- State Archives of North Carolina: 1944-1945
- Wilson Library, UNC Chapel Hill: 1944-1948; 1992-2003
- University of Wisconsin-Madison: 1944-1976; 1978-1991; 1994
Print copies at UNCW Library: 1958-1998; 1995; 1998 (scattered)
Other copies available: Print issues dated 1944-2013 are held at the Harriotte B. Smith Library at Camp Lejeune. Contact the library for information about accessing these issues.
Notes: Absorbed the New River Pioneer in 1944.
Jacksonville Daily News
OCLC Number: 11269474
City of Publication: Jacksonville
Print Status: In print (founded circa 1954)
Digitized Copies Available:
- UNCW Library Databases: 2002-present
Microfilm Copies Available:
- UNCW Library: 1954
- State Archives of North Carolina: 1954
Notes: Continues Jacksonville Daily News and Views.
Jacksonville Enterprise
OCLC Number: 25660873
City of Publication: Jacksonville
Print Status: Defunct (published 1912-1918?)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available:
- State Archives of North Carolina: 1912; 1918
Jacksonville Record
OCLC Number: 26101700
City of Publication: Jacksonville
Print Status: Defunct (published 1942-1947)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available: None
Notes: Continues Onslow County Record. Absorbed by Onslow County News and Views.
New River Pioneer
OCLC Number: 10703713
City of Publication: New River
Print Status: Defunct (published 1942-1944)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available: None
Notes: Absorbed by the Camp LeJeune Globe
Onslow County News and Views
Alternate Title(s): Jacksonville News and Views
OCLC Number: 26101751
City of Publication: Jacksonville
Print Status: Defunct (published 1938?-1952)
Digitized Copies Available:
- North Carolina Digital Heritage Center: 1942-1945; 1950; 1952
- Chronicling America: 1942-1945; 1950; 1952
Microfilm Copies Available:
- UNCW Library: 1942-1945; 1950; 1952
- State Archives of North Carolina: 1942-1945; 1950; 1952
Notes: Absorbed Jacksonville Record. Continued by Jacksonville Daily News.
Onslow County Record
OCLC Number: 26101676
City of Publication: Jacksonville
Print Status: Defunct (published 1928?-1940)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available: None
Notes: Continued by the Jacksonville Record.
Onslow Messenger
OCLC Number: 25660748
City of Publication: Jacksonville
Print Status: Defunct (published 1902-1904)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available:
- State Archives of North Carolina: 1904
Richlands-Beulaville Advertiser News
OCLC Number: 30749549
City of Publication: Richlands
Print Status: Defunct (dates of publication unknown)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available:
- UNCW Library: 1979-1992
- State Archives of North Carolina: 1979-1992
Spectrum
OCLC Number: 10632917
City of Publication: Jacksonville
Print Status: Defunct (dates of publication unknown)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available: None
Tideland News
OCLC Number: 32661240
City of Publication: Swansboro
Print Status: In print (founded 1979)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available:
- State Archives of North Carolina: 1979-2007
White Oak Scene
OCLC Number: 26471955
City of Publication: Swansboro
Print Status: Defunct (published 1963)
Digitized Copies Available: None
Microfilm Copies Available: None